sash cords and parting beads

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fred Page

Established Member
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at replacing sash cords. I've looked at several internet videos but all skip over the difficulty of first finding the pockets (hidden by over a 100 years' of paint), removing these covers and dealing with the parting bead. Everything else appears straight forward.
I'm only doing the lower window frame so my question is this: presumably it's only necessary to remove the length of parting bead covering the the pocket - this I'll have to do by chiselling it out and replacing with new?
I'm tempted to strip off the old paint as a means of finding the covers but am fearful of using a hot air stripper on old paint in an ancient frame! Getting out the parting bead seems to me to be the most difficult part. Anybody any suggestions?
Fred.

The parting bead is in one piece and needs to be removed in one. You might have to burn off a bit of paint to loosen it.
You might be able to see the sash pocket join better if you do something like shining a torch along the surface and looking for irregularities. Or a metal detector might show you where the screw is. A rare earth magnet makes a better metal detector than the gadget, for metal not very deep. Steel only.
Occasionally sash pockets are in the inside lining so if you can't find them you may be looking in the wrong place.
If you are replacing any you might as well do the whole lot - and clean out the bottom of the sash box, where dust and debris tends to accumulate

Jacob":3ki8u8cg said:
...Or a metal detector might show you where the screw is....
They have screws :shock: Seriously, I've never come across a sash pocket cover that was screwed in place.