Router Table setup

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timberdog

Reaction score
Hi All, and thanks for having me :)
I am a newbie-ish and am getting a Triton MOF001 router tomorrow. I am trying to locate an insert for making a router... There seem to be loads of 'plates' avalable but i'm not sure which will fit my router. Budget wise, cheapest but good enough is my current way so would it be best just to make my own from plate steel/aluminium or something else? I have a lovely un-used gloss white MDF side panel from a recent kitchen fit which would seem to do the job for the top, maybe backed by further sheet of MDF to make more rigid.. Ive also realised that it may be possible to fit the table into my (also recently aquired) Rexon 2500a table saw...what would the plusses and minusses be for doing it this way..?
Any advice would be very grateful as its all a bit of a minefeild at the mo, such a steep learning curve :lol:

I bought the table from Rutlands and Incra plate from Peter Sefton, this is it fitted to my SIP table saw ( before I replaced the plate supplied with the table which I felt wasn't beefy enough for my DeWalt 625) but nothing to stop you making both the table and insert yourself.

I'd use SRBP or aluminium as preference for the plate although as it's only a 1/4" router there are other materials available as well as some cheap insert plates which would probably carry the weight.

Attachments

• 3.JPG
    3.JPG
    187 KB · Views: 103
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    156.3 KB · Views: 103