polishing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caretaker

Established Member
Reaction score
As I am very new to this turning game but have read some books, I need to put some polish on my test spindles that I have done.
To be honest, I have only got one good test spindle and it is only small.
In one book it said Maynard's in a tin, and you put it on when it is spinning in the lathe.
I may have the name wrong.
Will I be able to use furniture wax on my test peace?
Any tips?

Hi Caretaker, funiture wax is fine but use a decent sanding sealer first or the wood will keep sucking the polish in without giving a decent result.
I always use a small piece of cloth held lightly with finger tips when polishing.

Never wrap any cloths around your hands when polishing with the lathe running :shock:

ATB

Dean

Hi Reg.

The answer to your question has as many answers as people you talk to.

1. It depends on the type of wood, close grain/open grain, and the use the item is put to. Close grain Yew, exotics and the like can be treated with 1 or 2 coats of sanding sealer rubbed well back between coats. Then a coat of wax stick/paste. Or you could use Melamine if the article is being handled all the time. Or you can use a friction polish which is not so durable and can lose it's gloss if handled. These finishes tend to give a high gloss look when completed.

2. Open grain timber Oak, Ash and so on, it is normally expected to use a oil finish, Danish or Finishing oil. These tend to leave a more satin finish but can be very durable, and are easy to rub over in the future if ever required.

3. Again after using sanding sealer you could go for some of the aerosol spray finishes around.

Just some ideas for you to be going on with. With all finishes use a paper towel to apply/buff while on the lathe NEVER cloth!