pattern makers plane

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tobytools

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, this my seem a bit of a silly question but what's a pattern makers plane about, and what's a pattern maker do? Is anyone out there a pattern maker

Pattern makers make a model of a part which is to be cast in metal, which is then used to create a sand casting mold. Quite commonly the pattern is made in wood, often mahogany.

Whilst I have no claim to experience of pattern making, my dad, who is/was a genuine Sheffield steelworker, spent part of his career working in a pattern shop. Why they needed a patternmaker's plane (the sort with interchangeable bases and irons) I am unsure. They also used a pattern maker's ruler, which is not much use to anyone else as it is oversized to allow for the contraction of metal on cooling, so that the pattern is made oversized by the right amount to ensure that the casting, when cooled, is the right size. Later in his career, my father was a training instructor in welding and fabrication, and used to enjoy pulling the leg of his trainees using his pattern maker's rule to wind them up that they'd made something the wrong size...

Sadly, pattern makers are an all but dead trade.
Pattern makers gouges are a fascinating one, they're incredibly useful things (paring gouges to some), but sadly they seem to also be dying!
If anyone could point me to someone who still makes paring gouges I'd be very grateful, searching tool shops for what you know isn't there is getting a bit tedious!

Fraser

Frazer, sorry I don't know any one many ask Andy T. And Tony thanks a million im thinking of getting a pattern makers plane just to keep not use but they are like £70, nice tools tho. I like the history to these tools also Sheffield . Best tools ever.
Thanks

I agree, Sheffield tools and history are both fascinating!