Quantcast

Parkside PTSS 1200 B1

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

heno123

Member
Joined
6 Mar 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Portadown
Hi all,

New here but just picked up the plunge saw from Lidl. Wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue, but the depth scale is consistently 2mm out. Set cut depth to 22mm but only cutting about 20mm down!!

Any ideas??

Thanks,

Alan

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
 

Noel

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
7 Aug 2003
Messages
6,073
Reaction score
32
heno123":38nt9lb7 said:
Hi all,

New here but just picked up the plunge saw from Lidl. Wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue, but the depth scale is consistently 2mm out. Set cut depth to 22mm but only cutting about 20mm down!!

Any ideas??

Thanks,

Alan

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
If you need to limit cut over a sacrificial sheet or whatever just put it up against the stock. With practice you'll be able to eyeball it. 2mm on a CC is hardly crucial.

PS- Welcome Alan.
 

heno123

Member
Joined
6 Mar 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Portadown
The work around is easily done but just the principal of it!! Maybe I can't complain too much with the price of it!! Can't help but feel there's some kind of adjustment

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,612
Reaction score
60
Location
Devon
Might sound silly but you are using the correct mark on the depth gauge? I can't say I have ever checked mine, I always measure the sheet, add on a couple of mm and go for that.
 

Bodgers

Established Member
Joined
21 Dec 2014
Messages
1,861
Reaction score
0
Location
North Yorks
heno123":3mz96qk2 said:
Hi all,

New here but just picked up the plunge saw from Lidl. Wondering if anyone else has experienced this issue, but the depth scale is consistently 2mm out. Set cut depth to 22mm but only cutting about 20mm down!!

Any ideas??

Thanks,

Alan

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
The answer is to not rely on any printed power tool scale. That principal will guide you well when using budget to mid priced power tools.

Just take a measurement between the base and the blade tip with quality steel rule or other decent measuring method. Do a test cut to check.



Sent from my Redmi Note 5 using Tapatalk
 

heno123

Member
Joined
6 Mar 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Portadown
Rorschach":26ajkx3b said:
Might sound silly but you are using the correct mark on the depth gauge? I can't say I have ever checked mine, I always measure the sheet, add on a couple of mm and go for that.
Yeah I plan on using the track more often than not. Even off the track & set to zero it's 2mm off the surface of the sheet!! Seems that its one of the easier things to be right on it!! Defeats the purpose of the scale

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
 

Eric The Viking

Established Member
Joined
19 Jan 2010
Messages
6,534
Reaction score
20
Location
Bristle, CUBA (the County that Used to Be Avon)
I suspect the scale is for the saw just running on the surface, without the rail.

FWIW, my Makita is like that and it's annoying, especially as I have both 160mm and 165mm blades! The bigger blade is the official one for mine, otherwise the scale is way out. With the mains plug out, I usually drop a tooth very gently onto a steel rule or similar tucked under the splinter strip, note the depth and subtract that from the scale reading to get the depth of cut. There's no point in writing any measured offset on the saw, as it isn't very consistent. If you use clamps, they alter things too, if done up too tight.

I think the TS55 has two scales, for use with and without the rail.

Is the indicator adjustable, and if so by how much?
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,612
Reaction score
60
Location
Devon
My Parkside has 2 scales, with and without the rail.

As I said, I don't really pay much attention though. I also use different size blades in mine so then it becomes totally useless.
 

heno123

Member
Joined
6 Mar 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Portadown
Eric The Viking":2mzypnr3 said:
I suspect the scale is for the saw just running on the surface, without the rail.

FWIW, my Makita is like that and it's annoying, especially as I have both 160mm and 165mm blades! The bigger blade is the official one for mine, otherwise the scale is way out. With the mains plug out, I usually drop a tooth very gently onto a steel rule or similar tucked under the splinter strip, note the depth and subtract that from the scale reading to get the depth of cut. There's no point in writing any measured offset on the saw, as it isn't very consistent. If you use clamps, they alter things too, if done up too tight.

I think the TS55 has two scales, for use with and without the rail.

Is the indicator adjustable, and if so by how much?
Yeah as Rorschach says, it has a with & without rail mark. Easy to add 2mm on but I like things to be right lol

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
 

Bodgers

Established Member
Joined
21 Dec 2014
Messages
1,861
Reaction score
0
Location
North Yorks
heno123":29tc24lq said:
Eric The Viking":29tc24lq said:
I suspect the scale is for the saw just running on the surface, without the rail.

FWIW, my Makita is like that and it's annoying, especially as I have both 160mm and 165mm blades! The bigger blade is the official one for mine, otherwise the scale is way out. With the mains plug out, I usually drop a tooth very gently onto a steel rule or similar tucked under the splinter strip, note the depth and subtract that from the scale reading to get the depth of cut. There's no point in writing any measured offset on the saw, as it isn't very consistent. If you use clamps, they alter things too, if done up too tight.

I think the TS55 has two scales, for use with and without the rail.

Is the indicator adjustable, and if so by how much?
Yeah as Rorschach says, it has a with & without rail mark. Easy to add 2mm on but I like things to be right lol

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
It ain't going to be right on these sort of tools! Don't rely on the tool scales.

Sent from my Redmi Note 5 using Tapatalk
 

Latest posts

Top