One off router

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TEP

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi. Don't get to this part of the forum that often, but on this I have no knowledge at all.

Have accepted a job to make quite a few turned and fluted legs, and associated pieces. I have never found the need for a router in the past, but obviously I need one for this work. I intend putting the price onto the final bill, and in all honesty can't see me needing one again. So have decide to buy cheap.

Has anyone had/got any experience of the Ryobi ERT 2100V. I need a ½” collet as some of the work is quite hefty. Or any other suitable models around the £125 mark, don't want to pay any more.

I'm not interested in the buy to last on this one, as this is the first time in over 12 years turning I have needed one. When the job is done I will probably pass the router onto my son for his DIY.

As always, grateful for any help you can put my way!

I've heard good things about that one on here and seen as your only going to use it the once I'd go for it. Have you thought about a second hand ebay one to keep the price down?

i use that router in my table permanently and it is brilliant. Plenty of power for all jobs including panel raising.

I'd definitely go for it

regards,

michael

I just picked up an Erbauer (the 2100W one) from ebay for £60 (70 after p&p). They're about £90 new from screwfix and apparently very good for the money. It uses a 1/2" or 1/4" collet, and usually recommended for heavier work (worktops etc).