Okay. What do you do with your mountain of offcuts?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyberheater

Reaction score
I'm quite new to woodworking but I'm slowly collecting a mountain of offcuts that I've been keeping in big plastic buckets on the off chance that I might need that little bit.

The end result is that I'm incrementally filling up my garage (my workshop) with loads of this stuff. What do you folks do with it? Is there anything I can use it for apart from maybe building a outdoor pizza oven and using it for fuel?

how big are the offcuts? I have had some "offcuts" that I have made things from, and produced my own offcuts. I give them to a mate to burn, or turn anything 6" long or so to pen blanks. One man's offcut is another mans board!

I keep the delicious ones like ebony, if large enough and the rest go on the woodburner apart from a jig making bits box which gets topped up from time to time. Lately I've started doing the odd glue up to create larger turn-able pieces from smaller "waste"

Burn and get rid, else you will keep them for the rest of your life and probably move them around at least a dozen times in that span.

I have an additional council bin that I use just for offcuts and my son takes them to a friend every so often for his woodburner. I do also raid the bin from time to time looking for the odd bit that I need.

It's a good way of ringing the last drop out of some of the nicer and more expensive woods like walnut. Here's a little ring box I made last week from Walnut and Ash from pieces that would normally go in the wood burner. I have a major problem setting fire to Walnut!!

IMG_5534.JPG
IMG_5535.JPG
IMG_5536.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_5534.JPG
    IMG_5534.JPG
    107.6 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_5535.JPG
    IMG_5535.JPG
    83.6 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_5536.JPG
    IMG_5536.JPG
    155.8 KB · Views: 269