New woodworker, no shop or bench yet.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swp

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to woodworking as a hobby. For now my main motivation is being able to make things for my home that fit better or fit my requirements better than store bought items. I've come across these forums while trying to find information on a variety of related subjects so figured I would benefit from joining you all.

Currently I have a few hand tools, a plunge router and a black and decker work bench. I don't have any bigger workshop tools, thought in the future I will consider buying them if they fit what I'm doing and in the space I have. Currently my working space is either outside or in my dining room. Neither is ideal as I can't leave my tools in a usable set up and when indoors I worry about the dust in the house.

We're looking to to move house currently and I should either get a garage to work in (shared with motorbikes) or possibly a shed in the garden if we get somewhere with the space to put one.

Do other people manage without a workshop using portable workbenches and tools, what are some tips for working in a portable manner until I can get going in a more permanent workshop?

Hi, Welcome to the forum.

I started 'proper' woodworking when I bought my first flat and I was in a similar situation to you with only a B&D Workmate and a few tools to work with. Actually you can achieve quite a lot with it and thirty years on the workmate is still giving good service when I work inside the house.