New shed workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colinb4987

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm brand new to this game, so I've spent a bit of time reading around to try and undeerstand what I'm getting into, and what the "best" approach for me is going to be. Unfortunately, I feel somewhat like I've been blindfolded, spun around repeated times, and am now attempting to pin the tail on the donkey. I've been through the Table vs. Bandsaw debate, and came out on the side of tablesaw. Then I started looking at options, costing things up, and considering where my workshop is going to be, and I'm back at square one. So I thought I'd start a thread looking for some advice.

Basically, I've a new house with garden and shed. The shed plus garden will constitute my first ever workshop. No garage or permanent inside cover is available. which means all tools have to be stored in the shed, and most likely used outside in the garden under cover of a tarpaulin, gazebo, or somesuch. There is some space in the shed to work, but insufficient to handle sheet material. The goal right now is to be building furniture from plywood (possibly with facings or veneer) for this rented house, with a view to making it nicer to live in and maximising storage space, while also building the skills and confidence to let me slowly move into more complicated furniture, or start working in solid wood rather than ply. Essentially, a stepping stone.