New metal lathe cutting tools; solid or replaceable tips..?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tangledfeet

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a technical teacher at a Scottish secondary school and I'll be teaching National 4/5 (Scottish equivalent of 'O' Grades) Practical Metalwork next school session, pretty much a new subject to the curriculum.

We have two new (well - new to us, anyway...) Warco GH1330 centre lathes but virtually no cutting tools so I need to get the requisitions in for new cutting tools. I did my time on the tools 20+yrs ago, and grinding/sharpening lathe tools was never a strength of mine!

Are the cutting tools with replaceable carbide tips pretty much the de facto standard these days, and are they robust enough for clumsy use by secondary school kids?

Many thanks for any guidance!

PS - Had a clear out today of the old kit for the old lathes and found a couple of Myford 3-jaw chucks; do they have any value or worth..?!

Insert tip tools are pretty much industry standard these days. Indeed, you may be hard pressed to find brazed carbide-tipped tools. However, the insert tips do have their disadvantages; they're expensive, they tend to be brittle, and they really don't like slower cutting speeds. All of those weaknesses may be quite significant in a school workshop.

I hate to say this, but HSS may be the pragmatic option, especially for inexperienced operators. It's almost certainly the cheaper option, too.

Myford chucks (especially if they have both inside and outside jaw sets and the chuck key) have a definite value - check past Ebay prices!

Cheshirechappie":156u6er4 said: