New Machine (garage) Room Setup advice require please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

krisdl

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello there

I am presently studying furniture making and I am able to pay my hands a little bit of cash to setup a machine room in my garage, ( I have a 12x10 workshop recently erected next to the garage) I do not presently have any machines and I am looking to take timber from it's rough state and machine it myself to the point that I can start to make the cabinets or chairs or whatever my next project maybe. This is me only using the machines and I would doubt most people would call it heavy work but I cannot afford to spend this money again (baby on the way) so this is my one chance to get a decent setup.

I have £2800 to spend but this includes getting the electrics done to both the shed and the garage, there is absolutely no wiggle room. I have turned to Charnwood as they seem to offer a great range of machines and they come at an affordable price.

The following is my purchase list so far.

W730 14'' Woodworking Bandsaw £489
W650 Tablesaw £829
W583 10'' x 7'' Planer Thicknesser £799
W691 2HP Single Bag Dust Extractor £269
W520 Universal Wheel Base x3 £150

Total £2536

As you can see I am at the very top of my budget but I think there might be a bit of wiggle room (discount) if I get all this machinery from charnwood, my question is it worth it? I have seen a nice review of the bandsaw, not seen anything about the table saw I think and the planer thicknesser looks like the one from axminster but I just don't know enough to know for sure. Any advice would be fantastic, my wife has warned me against coming to her with stories of "spend more to get more" what we have is what we have she said, and her word is final!

Thank you for any time you spend looking at my list, I would appreciate feedback.

Kris

Hi Kris,