Need some help with my table saw...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MR H 91

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I need some advice. I'll start by saying woodworking is a hobby and I'm by no means a professional. Yesterday I was ripping some Sapele using my table saw when the offcut suddenly kicked back. This was a pretty scary experience, it all happened quickly and luckily I was using a couple of pushsticks, one to push the stock against the fence and the other to push through the blade. My question is, why did this happen and how do I prevent this from happening again?

My thoughts are the stock wasn't completely flat so it binded on the blade. I know my fence is true to the blade so I doubt its the fence. I was ripping 120mm stock to roughly 30mm. The 30mm piece was to the left of the blade and this is the part that caught the blade and almost hit me. Should I have had more stock to the left of the blade rather than more against the fence? I was using the riving knife, I pushed the stock at a steady speed and at a constant pace. This all happened once the cut had passed right through the wood.

Any advice would be much appreciate, this has really knocked my confidence in my ability to be safe in the workshop.

Thank you

I think the push stick you were using to keep the stock pushed against the rip fence caused your problem,you inadvertently kept a little pressure on it when the cut was completed.This would let the waste piece move into the upcoming teeth of the blade which would catch Th timber and throw it up violently towards you ,try using just the one push stick.

Did your fence extend right past the blade?