Need some advice on jointer planes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I was expecting to find some lemons on the Tooltique website which you suggested Mr Tasky
But not so, nice thick castings :)
About twice the price of ebay, buy it now listings, but nice detailed piccys to make up for that.

I do seem to go on, and on, about a trustworthy flat reference surface like suggested for working on, but hey, what can you do :)
Some folk like having a bench that they can chew up, others treat theirs with much care because its the most valuable tool in the workshop for their work.

Tom

Ttrees":3hmh49ba said:
........I do seem to go on, and on, about a trustworthy flat reference surface like suggested for working on........

Yes, you do. We're in a thread by a complete novice to hand tools, and whittering on about your highly individual approach to planing is guaranteed to do one thing, and one thing only: put people off planing. You unnecessarily complicate a simple process, you introduce controversy where there is none, and you disregard the actual question being asked. This obsession of yours is seriously unhelpful, and I haven't the slightest doubt that it reduces the number of people who might otherwise be tempted to give hand-planing a try.