Name that plane

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scholar

Established Member
Reaction score
I had to dip into a couple of the toolboxes today - lots of wooden planes and moulding planes to sort through and get sharpened up (lots to learn there).

I came across three infill planes that I thought someone may have some ideas about. I should say i am not an expert on old planes, but do aim one day to get these overhauled so far as is reasonable. Right now they are a bit of a rum bunch..

Plane 1
The blade and cap iron are missing from this jointer - it is 21 3/4" long and the blade is, or rather should be, 2 5/8" wide.
The sole is in pretty good shape with just a bit of surface rust on the sides (would it have been nickel plated or something?).
There do not appear to be any maker's markings at all to help me identify it.

Plane 2
The blade has a Norris stamp; the cap iron has a I Sorby stamp; the rest of the plane has no markings.
The rear infill appears to be relatively recent, although I may be wrong - it is certainly not properly finished at the back - I don't know whether it is a replacement or the original infill- if the latter then perhaps this is an unfinished kit? There is a threaded hole at the back of the bronze/brass upright that is clearly missing a screw/bolt. The front infill is missing, clearly.
The length is 7 3/8" and the blade is 2 1/4" wide.
The sole is steel and the sides bronze or brass. The sole is fairly pitted in one area, but I guess quite a bit of that could be lapped out.

Plane 3
This is fairly beat up at the back, presumably due to whacking with a steel hammer to free the wedge etc.
The plane has no apparent markings, but the iron has a E Preston stamp.
The width is slightly over 1/2" and the length is ".
The sides are dovetailed to the base and the infill and the (damaged) wedge is presumably rosewood.