My God,The DW721 RAS, it's huge!!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whoops!

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Just bought a Radial arm saw, the DW721, for an absolute song. ( £200), A couple of small things broken but I've already ordered the parts, so no probs there.

I've never used a RAS before and I keep on going out to the garage and wondering what the flippin'eck I'm going to use the thing for. The thing is HUGE!! I have to squeeze past the arm and the Table everytime I go in the place!

I already have a TS, a SCMS and all the other usual stuff , is there any one out there who could win me over with its merits over and above the other machines.

The space is not an issue as I have my workshop in France which will happily accommodate the beastie, but I'd rather not lug it all the way over there if it's not going to be used.

What I have heard is that setting up is a nightmare, And that they're not usually accurate enough for tenoning, which is really what I'm interested in. (re: setting up)

Any advice or knowledge on this matter would be greatly appreciated, and if there is any literature out there, Titles or ISBN's please.

When I said 'yes', I really had no idea of the size, I suppose the fact it has a 61cm cross cut should have given the game away.,

Thanks

Decklan

Hi Declan

Bit out of my league, size wise, as I have a DW 110, purchased in 1975 and still going strong.

Biggest problems, from my experience, are (a) keeping the table flat and adjusting it so that it matches the flex of the arm as the saw is pulled forward and (b) keeping the saw in 90/45 degree alignment with the fence and table for cross cutting/mitres. I think this is one reason why many people use these saws for cross cutting only.