Most dureable of the oil based finishes?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HJC1972

Established Member
Reaction score
Ok, I'm a french polisher by trade and I've used most of the oil finishes over the past twenty years. One thing I've never really managed to establish is which is the most dureable. I currently use Liberon's finishing oil for doing dining table tops, but in the past I've used Danish, Teak, Tung, Lemon and of course Linseed. The liberon stuff dries very well and is non-toxic, and, if enough coats are applied (12-15) you can start to achieve something of a build to the finish, as opposed to a dead flat finish, which never looks good on dining tables so that's why I tend to use it most these days.

What's pricked my curiosity about this, though, is the fact that it's that time, once again, to oil my teak garden furniture. Last time I Danished it but I was thinking of trying the Osmo stuff. I've never used it before and was just browsing their data pages and I see that the ingredients are pretty much Sunflower and soyabean oil, with some drying agents (terebine, presumably?), white spirit and what they rather vaguely list as "additives". As I said I've never used it but unless those "additives" are rather special then I'm struggling to see how this oil can be any better than, say, a Danish oil.

I'd be interested in any thoughts on this or any previous experience with oils used long term outdoors.

I'm not sure quite why hardwax oils like Osmo Oil are more durable than Danish Oil, but they really are. I started using Osmo Top Oil on various turned and flat work items a couple of years ago and inititally I was sceptical about the claims the manufacturer made for the finish - but not any more. It really does do what it says on the tin!