Lathe Choice....

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

galwayworker

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I hope I'm not going back over old ground by asking the following question....
I am new to woodturning (just finished off an evening course a little while ago) and I am considering buying a Record Lathe. Due to money being tight... :( my budget is limited so I was considering either the Record DML 36SH-CAM or the DML 305.

The school where I did the course had the DML 36SH-CAM lathes. I'm not sure if it was the way the instructor had the lathes set up (I think the lathe was always set at 950RPM) or the 1/3HP motor but when turning an 8" bowl the piece would stop turning when taking a heavy cut into the piece. Is the motor underpowered for turning, especially if you were to swivel the head and try to turn a 12" bowl?
The DML 305 is slightly more expensive but has got a 1/2HP motor and I am not too worried about the reduced distance between centres for spindle work. So my thinking is to go for the DML 305... any thoughts?

I have looked around for secondhand lathes but they are far and few between in Ireland plus they are advertised at what I would call high prices. I did check out shipping from Axminster but it would bring the cost of the Axminster AWVSL up to £224 :(.

Thanks for looking

Hiya,

The DML only has a 1/3 HP motor, and will stall if heavy cutting, Or ( sanding ) a large bowl/platter blank. You can also say the same for the 2 HP VL 175 we have in the club though !!

But if your tools are sharp, and you approach correctly you should have no problems. I only stalled when i first got the lathe.

I have 12 inch platters, and bowls from mine, and even 6 x 8 hollow forms.

PS if i find my graduate for the right price - you can have my DML !