Kity planers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshjosh

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm quite new to woodworking so please excuse my lack of knowledge, I'm looking to get a decent planer thicknesser on a small budget and from reading previous threads think getting a second hand kity or similar would be my best option
At the moment I have no work space inside and so bring my tools out into the front yard to work and back into the house afterward. I like the look of the kity 635 and 636 but I'm wondering how portable they are? I'm pretty fit and not afraid to lift heavy objects but if it's a two man job then move then I'll have to think of an alternative
Thanks for any help josh

You might find there are more elektra beckum / metabo planer thicknessers around - they are very good machines.

Can be moved around by 1 person, as can the kity machines.

You would be best to make some wheels and lifting handles to avoid the temptation to lift by the tables.

Thanks for the advice!
So you would say any of those makes mentioned would be on par for quality?

I've got the smaller Kity 439.

I wouldn't want it in the house, as it would probably prompt divorce! It's awkward and heavy to move around, and the tables make it "fragile". I'm about to have a second go at a rolling base for it, just to move it around in the garage, as it's presently my most in-the-way bit of machinery (after the motorbike!).

Swiveling castors have the force exerted off-axis - the swivel is always being squished on the side next to the castor and levered apart on the other side. So your frame needs to be really rigid (mine wasn't good enough!). You also want the castors far enough away from the machine's centre of gravity that it can't tip over. That means effectively they need to be fixed outside the base area of the machine itself.