Kitchen cabinets - like no one makes em

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philxyz

Reaction score
Hello, beginner here, planning my first kitchen build.

Why does no one build cabinets using a wood frame structure skinned with a thin(nish) ply?

I have a drawng which saves me loads of ply. Looks great in CAD. No idea how it might stand up. I could add diagonal(?) support to brace the square in the absence of the back panel.

But I guess there's good reason why everyone uses 18mm ply board boxes. I don't know.

Thanks
Phil

It's a bit hypothetical at this point Phil, but normally one's sense of structure is based on experience. From yr brief description I can't see anything wrong.

But you haven't explained a huge amount.

Maybe the crux is that you have to hang doors / drawers / shelves etc off something, which in yr frame / panel model wld need frame members to be designed in at suitable positions?

Nothing wrong with your approach, it’s the way cabinets used to be made. Where time is money, it’s not the most economic way of making cabinets these days, with modern materials.

Thanks very much for the replies.

"But you haven't explained a huge amount."

TBH I am a little unsure what info is useful and I am only beginning to plan, but here's a go.

-All units will be on ground and pinned to walls
-Fully integrated kitchen appliances

I am thinking 40*70 frame, maybe maple? With 6mm birch ply skin (dare I consider 3mm) and 12mm ply shelves. But is that way too light?

-Would a 40*70 frame on the ground, pinned to wall, be strong enough for fridge freezer and dishwasher?
-How wpuld you joint the framing?
-Would you put some diagonal support to brace the square (not in my image)?

I have never done this but OK with table saw, router etc.