just got my first scrollsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim_UK

Reaction score
It's a used Ryobi model but after some tinkering replacing the screws in the blade clamps it seems ok. At first it vibrated a lot particuarly at certain speeds but now it's firmly fixed to my bench this seems to have been cured.

Is there any maintenance - oiling etc - that the saw would benefit from ?

The air blower on mine had perished but I set up an old aquarium air pump and this worked very well.

I'm pleased you got the vibration sorted out, Tim. It's counter-intuitive, but adding mass to the saw rather than sticking an "anti-vibration" mat underneath it works wonders.

I've no personal experience of Ryobi saws but I know of a rather talented scroller in Canada who cut his scrolling teeth on one. It didn't do him any harm - he ended up producing articles for international magazines and books. He visits this forum sometimes and perhaps he might be able to offer some advice.

By the way... nice duck :) .

Gill

Hi Tim, I have used a Ryobi saw for many years.
I have had two of them, the first wasnt much fun. They have improved so much over the past few years.
Gill has told you correctly that mass reduces vibration, anti vibration mats only isolate the vibration
It will help to oil the machine after every 20 hours or so. Use a light machine oil, perhaps from a sewing machine.

I would recommend that you clean the dust out of the lower blade clamps where it accumulates. The sawdust can make the blade clamps slip.
I have also taken a diamond emery fingernail file and roughed up the clamps a little. Originally there was a slight burr in the casting of my saw. It is fine now.

I also used the file under the table where a casting burr would scratch my hand as I changed the blade.