Just a little chuffed!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

liam8223

Established Member
Reaction score
Start of my A.I chisel set, a 1" butt and 1" bevel edge chisel.
An A.I marking knife, Richard Kell No 3 mkII honing guide and a lovely workshop heaven 12 pocket chisel roll.

Also a shop fox wheel marking gauge.

Hooked on the A.I's, can't beleive how much better they are than the current jam and custards I'm using.

4237538955_544612ccc8.jpg

The Ai's are magnificent tools. I've been using mine for a couple of months and they are still getting better.

that marking knife looks good. I didn't know AI did one like Japanesse style.

I tried an AI butt chisel for a week or so, a while back, and it was a really lovely little thing. However, if you are starting a collection of AI chisels, why would you buy butt and bevel edge chisels of the same size?

Mike

Nice haul, I have a couple of AI chisels, and find them to be excelent, unfortunately my other Marples chisels also take a wicked edge so I can't justify upgrading the whole set.

I'm hoping to have a go with the Kell Mk3 at the Axminster hand tool event in Feb, it looks such a nice bit of kit.

Cheers

Aled

Mike Garnham":infgty0j said:
I tried an AI butt chisel for a week or so, a while back, and it was a really lovely little thing. However, if you are starting a collection of AI chisels, why would you buy butt and bevel edge chisels of the same size?

Mike

I was just thinking the same.

Well that is a good question!

To be honest I've been doing alot of door hanging, and found my jam+custards very long and inaccurate when chopping the mortise, so thought i'd try a butt.

Doubt I'll buy more butts, but definately the bevel edged!

Dont suppose anyone would recommend a mallet that would be suitable?

I currently use a conventional beech mallet with my marples.

Liam.

liam8223":2b39dyel said: