Joining Worktops

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrewm

Established Member
Reaction score
Need to fit a kitchen worktop. Using a mason's mitre, biscuits and worktop joining bolts but how do you ensure that the two surfaces are level? Even with biscuits there is a bit of play and even ten thou difference is going to be obvious if you run you fingers over the join.

I had thought about using a couple of cauls to clamp along the length but the long piece runs the full width of the kitchen so it would mean leaning the whole assembly at an angle with associated risk to sink cutouts etc.

Second idea is to screw some 2x1s underneath across the join and wedge the lower end and tighten the screws to get alignment.

But is there a trick that the pros use that I am missing?

Andrew

I am no pro but I have fitted a kitchen worktop in the past.

I didn't have any problems with pulling the joint up with worktop bolts and biscuits to locate them.

As long as you are careful cutting the slots and reference from the same edge you can use your finger tips to assess if the two tops are exactly level and if not at the last minute just knock one or other into line.

Worked for me.

I would be interested to hear if there is a better way though.

Mick

tighten the bolts alittle then use a mallet to "adjust" as needed tighten the bolt alittle more, do the same again until they are lined up then nip the bolts up

edit to add,
on several occasions ive tried using timbers under the worktop but found sometimes the worktops are diffrent thicknesses, so you can get the bottom flat but it shows at the top,