Its a worry?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joethedrummer

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello good woodspinners

I am getting as much fun from making the tools as I am using them,,,

Latest effort is a 0.050inch thick parting tool,,,what do you think ???

Possible cause is I was a engineering production engineer way back.

,,,,joe,,,

Attachments

• pops shed 032.jpg
    pops shed 032.jpg
    122.7 KB · Views: 1,328
  • pops shed 034.jpg
    pops shed 034.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 1,328
Hi

Nice looking tool - however at 50 thou its a little on the thin side for my liking, I'd be concerned over it flexing / twisting in use. Also the fact that it is so thin may lead it to mark the toolrest.

Regards Mick

What thickness would you suggest ?
I used what I had to hand,, I have Youtubed and Eddie Castelin uses 0.0625 in;,, I will try it out and see how I get on,, next post from the local hospital !!!!!
Real good to find out what you all think.
,,,,joe,,,

Hi Spindle,,,,
Would you believe ,I made some tool rests from tool steel and I hope they are not spoiled by the parting tool,, but hey ho,, let "s see what happens,,
Why do I do it ? I ask myself often,,,
,,,joe,,,

Hi woodspinners,,,,
Hope you all have had as much fun as I have had today,,,,

Got to using the thin parting tool,, an" hey Spindle it does flex a bit ,,I think it also might want some side clearance "cos it started to "bind up" when I got it about an inch and a bit deep,,,

Created my second pot as a gift to the lady who gave me the apple wood,,,, she said it was destined for their woodburner,, (the applewood,, not the pot,,I hope )

The lid was going to have a bead on the knob but my partner the "dig in" prevailed so no bead appeared,, better luck next time maybe,,,

Wish I had retired years ago,,

,,,,joe,,,,,

Attachments

• pops shed 038.jpg
    pops shed 038.jpg