intro

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

suprasport

Established Member
Reaction score
hi, this is actually my second post but i just wanted to say Hi, to everyone and thanks for such a great forum, i have been picking your brains/posts for a couple of months now on pretty much every subject as it is about 15 years since i touched real wood, i have been a builder for the past 25 years but stopped work due to an operation on my wrist a year ago that went wrong, so all i can do now is potter.
Anyway i am loving the woodwork especially working with hardwoods for the first time.

i have set up a workshop from scratch by building a 9' x 17' workshop and buying a few tools: -
perform jointer (still undecided)
perform thicknesser (good)
perform bench drill (not bad, has a very slight wobble on the chuck )
perform wet n dry grinder (good)
quite a few hand tools
2 cheapo routers off ebay (cheap)
1x rubbish stanley no.4 :evil: (pathetic paperwieght )
performance circular saw (very good)
performance power 12" radial mitre saw (very good) took 6" back after 2 years 360 days and got a straight swap) :p
micrometer (ebay, very good)
moisture meter (the westfilia one) nothing to compare it with
then it gets better
veritas low angle jack + 38 degree blade blade (excellent)
Mkii honing guide
and just got my triton router today for the table again excellent, what a difference
japanese pull saw (love it)

a tip for anyone starting out. Buy the best you can afford as it will cost you more to buy cheap rubbish in the long run.

I have made a router table, workbench, and a table saw with a £20 performance circular saw, and yes before you slate me it works a treat is totally safe and has all the guards and is perfectly accurate :wink: