In a quandry over which bandsaw to buy, help!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

builderchad

Established Member
Reaction score
My main requirement is to cut smaller pieces but I will need to wheel out the BS on occasions for ripping longer stock. I make mostly carcass stuff but am also dabbling in making tools like bowsaws and framesaws at the moment.

I also have the need to occasionally resaw quite wide boards up to about 220mm (8 1/2). The real quandry is whether or not I justify the extra expense for going to such a cutting hieght for the odd times I will need to resaw. I was contemplating using a framesaw for such occasions but as I am still new to WW I don't know if I would have the skill to pull it off.

So on one hand I could save a bundle and just get the Scheppach 1 and make do with hand resawing or splash out and look at something like the Record BS350. I have also noticed the SIP 01489 which will do 220mm but I am dubious about the quality of these machines.

Any help will be be much appreciated, thanks.

Chad.

Welcome to the forum :)
Before you turn your nose up at the sip bandsaw, a few of us have them and all have been very happy with use and quality of these machines.
So if you get the chance to look at one, do before you make up your mind :) .
I have the 12" bandsaw and some have the 14".
I hope this helps

Thanks for the reply Colin, it is very assuring that others have it and like it. I have also noticed that iTECH do one which looks identical to the 14" and even has the same model number - so I assume they are the same machine:

SIP

iTECH

The nice thing with the iTECH deal is the cabinet base and mitre fence thrown in as a special offer. The only question is after sales support really.

I really like the idea of getting a decent machine for £200 less than the Record BS350 and getting a very similar spec.