I quit the rat race for furniture making

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ross K

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie here and thought I'd take the liberty to introduce myself as I reckon I may end up being a bit of a regular on this excellent forum.

A couple of years ago I did what I'd been saying I wanted to do for years - quit my suit and tie job for my real passion - furniture making.

My dear late father was a superb cabinet maker and he taught me from knee-high age to work with wood. I've been in love with woodworking ever since but up until 2007, work got in the way of my true vocation!!

Luckily my wife is the sort of gal who tends towards action not words and with her encouragement (and some financial support at the start) I went for it. Actually she said "Either you shut up about wanting to be a cabinet maker or you do it, but stop saying I wish I could but I can't because of x, y and z".

So with "you only live once" in mind I handed my notice in from my 20 year career working for a big company and with my wife moved to the sticks and into a "proper" job!

Two years on, I have no regrets. I love every day at work like never before and although my income has dropped considerably I'm much happier and I get to go home every night which is a novelty after years of a travelling job.

Some said it'd be a mistake to convert a hobby into a job but so far I disagree. I'd been making furniture in my spare time since being a kid (I'm 45 by the way) and for sure it's very different now that it's my job.

I was lucky to have got fixed up with a great cooperative of makers and business so far is good and getting better - word of mouth is keeping me in commissions and I'm making a wide variety of products. And enjoying every minute.