Homemade dust extraction - my thoughts so far.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkey Mark

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a hobbyist, and one on a very tight budget for that matter. I also like the idea of recycling/up-cycling and generally tinkering (I prefer to make something than buy it where possible).

For that reason I am, still, looking into making my own dust/chip extraction system and thought I'd put my musings into text. Maybe bouncing some ideas around may help myself and others.

Current situation:
At the moment I use a simple pneumatic vacuum cleaner for my extraction. It seems to do pretty well but struggles when I use my bench top planer and the noise, although not as loud as a conventional vacuum, can still become annoying after a while. It's also pretty old and it was second hand so I have no idea how long it will last me.
I've not yet added a cyclonic separator but whatever I do that will be one of the definite additions.

Environment:
My "workshop" is a single garage. It is also used for storing general DIY tools, my kids automotive tools & bikes and general rubbish which I'm slowly sifting through and disposing of - especially when the wife isn't looking :mrgreen:
It also has the tumble dryer in there and dust has been know to find its way through that.

Thoughts so far:
My garage is only small but that got me thinking that's a good and bad thing. Bad because I'm limited for space which is why I have not gone the usual root and bought an off the shelf dust/chip extractor. They can be quite big and I already struggle as it is. (Though if I got one cheap and woodchips I'd use that until I figured something out).