HELP WITH ELECTRICS PLEASE

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris By The River

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody, another newbie here!!!!
I am just in the process of returning to the lathe after a few years away. I have managed to buy a nice old Coronet (48" centres) for a decent price but the lathe is fitted with a new 3 phase Brook Hansen 1hp motor along with a 'Commander SE' box with variable speed control.
I only have access to single phase and my question is - Can I use any of the above mentioned bits or do I have to just buy a new motor? My budget is limited (she who see's all) so I would appreciate any help.
Thank you
Chris

depending on what sort of 3 phase it is you might be able to get a transformer - however there wont be much difference in price between this and buying a single phase motor.

alternatively you could have a three phase supply fitted in the workshop.

which route you chose will be a matter of persobal preference

personally i would buy a single phase motor and sell the three phase on ebay to defray some of the cost.

Hi Chris,

I have a 3 phase motor driven from single phase supply by a Commander SE 3 phase drive and it works very well. The links Chas posted should get you running but if you have any doubts on doing the electrics yourself get a professional to wire it for you! Assuming you bought it as one working unit the drive should already be programmed. If not you can download the manual from the Control Techniques site. I had to programme another drive made by Mitsubishi and it was ok once I had read the manual about three times :)

Coronet and variable speed sounds like a good combination, good luck with it.

Graham

Good morning Guys, thank you for the responses so far.