Help me with hardwood prices please.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jmac80

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I'll be honest, I'm new to buying hardwood and especially by the cubic metre so it all means nothing to my simple brain :oops:

Always worked in pine bought by the length and hardwood that i was given, reclaimed or milled myself from tree work i do.

I called my local merchant (who i have a good relationship with)
Explained i was after oak to make some bathroom furniture and what's the best price they can do...
I wanted 18mm oak veneered for the cabinets and some solid oak for the face frames etc.
He just came back with this from his supplier:

WJ969p3.jpg

i was hoping for a price in lengths... to get my head around it.

Are these price ok or extortionate lol? if i got say a length of 1" x 8" wide x 120" long would that cost about £40?.. is there an easy calc for working prices?

thanks

Using those prices then one piece ex 25mm x 100mm x 3m = £9.97 + vat but you probably wont get anything only 100mm wide.

I read that as 25mm x 200 x 3m which by my sums comes to £13.30, but then it's Friday afternoon, I've had to listen to the apprentice's Drum'n'bass playlist all day so I could be miles out!! :D

lol ok thanks guys :)
Do you think mdf veneered on both sides is ok for bathroom cabinets? it's less than half the price of the ply oak veneered.

Calculate the volume for the board using meters, so for your 25x200x3000 board;

0.025x0.2x3=0.015m3

Once you've got your volume in m3 multiply it by your price per m3;

0.015m3 x £1330= £19.95 +vat

divide the cubic metre price by 35.315, this will give you the price per cubic foot or more visualised

a 12' length of 12" x 1"
a 24' length of 6" x 1"
a 36' length of 4" x 1" (100mm x 25mm)
a 12' length of 6" x 2"