HELP!, calling Dave! the Sketchup guru.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mailee

Established Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the info on the Follow me tool Dave I have got it now and the layers are working a treat. I am afraid I do have another question for you though regarding Sketchup: When I draw a pelmet for the bottom of my cabinets for example like a skirting board section and then try to 'mitre' the ends with the rotation tool everything goes haywire with lines running from the curves and pulling everything out of shape? I have also tried just clicking on the lines and curves and pulling them but to the same ends! Have you any idea of how to do this process please as it is driving me mad. So far I have had to butt the corners up to each other but this is a trade off and doesn't look too good. As you can tell I am a novice with Sketchup having used Turbocad and Autocad in the past. Many thanks. :?

Hi there,

No worries on asking questions. There are a couple of ways of handling it.

One way would be to draw the board and then add a cutting plane where the mitre needs to be. I did a quick sketch and screen shot that should explain it.
CuttingPlane.jpg

Use the protractor tool to set a 45° construction line of the corner to give you a guide for drawing the cutting plane. After drawing that, run Intersect with model and finally delete the unwanted part and heal faces as needed.

You couldmake the two mating pieces separate groups and slide them together so their corners overlap. Then edit each piece individually tracing the intersection of the two and then deleting the waste but if there's any detail such as an ogee profile or whatever that can be quite time consuming.