Hand plane trouble

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LFS19

Established Member
Reaction score
I still haven't managed to get to grips with my hand plane.
I've been doing woodwork for about six months now, and you'd think I'd have been able to use it to some extent by now.

I suppose one of the reasons I haven't used it is because I've been avoiding it.
I have a ton of rough sawn pine in my workshop, but whenever I've started a project I've just gone and bought it pre planed from the lumber yard.

Whenever I have a go at planing that rough wood, it never goes right and I end up making it even less square then when I started.
Enough is enough, though. I really need to just learn this properly and I was hoping this forum could help me yet again.

I only have one plane - a number four. And it's a silverline, so no record or stanly. I went with what I could afford at the time.
I've spent quite allot of time with it sporadically over the course of my woodworking endeavour so far, but I've had no luck actually getting anything square, and as I've said before, have often left the wood in a worse state.

I figured my first step was to sharpen it.
I hadn't sharpened it since I got it, again for fear of well and truly screwing up the blade, but I took the time today to go through one of Paul sellers videos on YouTube and get it razor sharp.
After some confusion of actually putting the thing back together, I went out to test it and noticed that after a couple of passes, the blade was slipping back into the mouth.
After fiddling around (not sure what I actually did) I managed the stop that, but then chip braker seemed to slip down the the same depth of the blade, and prevent me taking any shavings.