Furniture Making Courses

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fatica23

Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently studying level 2 in carpentry & joinery. However when I finish the course I want to get into furniture making. I have look at uni courses but they are all based on "design" rather than the making.... so I have started looking furniture making schools. I live in the Northwest of England and so far all the courses i've found are based down South. Also they are very pricey!!!

Any help would be appreciated I want to know if there is furniture making courses in the Northwest or if there is any another route I could take i.e apprenticeships

Cheers,

You might also want to have a word with Roger Berwick (Dodge on the Forum) as to what training he would recommend?
As well as being a professional cabinet maker, Roger does offer 1:1 training and several on the forum here (myself included) have benefited from his expertise - including I think, one student who wanted to take up cabinet making professionally.
Although Roger is based down South, it might even be worth a day or 2 with Roger to actually get a view on how good your skills are and he can certainly advise on the practicalities of woodwork as a business rather than a hobby.

http://www.rogerberwick.com

Thanks Marcros,

by the looks of things all furniture making schools are going to be super expensive! if anyone could advise me on another option for studying wood, furniture and cabinet making please let me know. so far I have had no luck getting an apprenticeship in my local area, the course I am studying at the moment is 80% site based and only 20% bench :(

cheers,

i guess that the cheapest way of learning is by having a go, and identifying specific areas that you need help on. Do you need any furniture for home that you could start by making to build your skills?