Fun little project - toolbox & steps combo *picture heavy*

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petermillard

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks.

Just completed a fun little project so thought I'd share. I don't do many small jobs these days (usually home stuff) but when I do I'm constantly amazed at the amount of gear you need to cart around - being a fairly mobile woodworker I keep most of my gear in Systainers which makes it easier, but it still adds up to a lot of stuff to shift. These are my standard 'stacks' which go everywhere...

IMG_1368.JPG

Dust extractor on the left with small sander and clean-up tools above, and drills above that. Hand tools on the right, with fixings and odds & ends in the drawers below. Plus there's a hop-up platform, extension canbles etc.. etc... - you get the idea. Anyway, I came across this toolbox on wheels article in This is Carpentry:-
TIC1-tbx-03_3962_edited.jpg

Full article here - http://www.thisiscarpentry.com/2008/10/ ... x-article/

... and thought it was a great idea. I've copied this and adapted it to my own requirements - by keeping the dimensions similar to my Systainer stacks I can use the same lashing points in my van to keep everything upright...

IMG_1369.JPG

Mine's made from Birch ply scraps and offcuts, 12mm & 18mm

IMG_1370.JPG

As in the original the top step is hinged, but mine has a lift-out odds & ends box for things specific to the job I'm doing, and the shape of the handle means that it can hook over the back of the unit (or anywhere else) at a convenient height...

IMG_1371.JPG

I had no need for a fold-out hammer hanger, so the step in mine lifts off for easy access toe the top tray - just the right size for my hammer drill with built-in dust collection - wish they made a cordless version!

IMG_1374.JPG