First Project - Rustic Chest WIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ro

Established Member
Reaction score
As a newbie, I hope no-one minds me posting a WIP thread in here.

I've just moved house and need some new furniture. Having had my wallet shocked by the price of decent hardwood furniture I thought I'd try making some.

Now, I haven't done any woodwork since I was a boy messing around in my dad's shed So I decided to take it slowly and start with something that didn't require a 'perfect' finish :D .

I'm building a chest based partly on plans in Doug Stowe's "Rustic Furniture Basics".

I picked up the wood (4 planks of 6x1 sawn oak and a waney edged bit of what looks like beech) about a week ago and have been letting them settle in the utility room:
4906800521_3c940efa70.jpg

I then stole my father's circular saw and ripped them down to width
4906800779_2853e39fa6.jpg

A bit of work with the handsaw then left me with what seemed like a lot less wood than I started with - where does it all go?
4906800975_03801ffc7e.jpg

I treated myself to a small planer/thicknesser from Axminster after reading the reviews on here, so it was time to try my purchase out!
4907390838_6a4e11d4c2.jpg

It works beautifully!

The planer made short work of squaring up the planks so it's straight on to glueing them up into the sides of the chest:
4906801447_73040f2da0.jpg

And, amazingly the glue holds and the sides just need a bit of levelling off with the old hand plane and sanding down!
4906801649_c806223478.jpg

hello :p

And welcome to the forum

Looks like the project is coming along nice

Keep up the photos as we all like to see whats being made

:wink:

Hi RO
and welcome to the forum. That looks like some very nice timber you have got there.
Thanks for sharing your pictures.
David

Hi Ro