First project - halfway stage (WIP)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BelgianPhil

Established Member
Reaction score
I am building a cart type of thing to pull the kids around in when we go to theme parks or carboot sales. It is my first project and i joined a woodworking class to get some help and tips.

This is where i am after many weeks. It's frustratingly slow work with a 3 year old and a 7 month old, but i'm getting there.

Next job is to cut some fins to stiffen the rear axle strut, cut the front and back of the top, assemble the top and mount it on the base.
Then perhaps shortening the axles a bit. Anyone in Birmingham with a metalwork lathe to cut the grooves for the cerclips?
Oh and applying a finish and cutting plugs for the screw holes and ...
DSC00182.JPG

DSC00183.JPG

DSC00184.JPG

DSC00185.JPG

DSC00186.JPG

DSC00187.JPG

And before anyone asks, yes that front bit is a spade handle attached to some reclaimed rafters.

I think that's a very nice job you're doing there, kids should be chuffed to bits.

You could cut the grooves for the circlips with a hacksaw if you're careful, perhaps knock up a little wooden jig to guide the blade and keep the slot square and uniform.

Very nice.

I built a similar one over 30 years ago for my kids (from a BBC design I think?) - it had low sides to help keep them in!

Still going strong and brought out occasionally to move stuff around the garden and the Grandkids.
Family Heirloom? :)

Rod

I didn't make it really clear in my original post but there will be a top for this trolley. I already cut, shaped and sanded the sides.
DSC00206.JPG

All i have to do now is make the front and rear panels and assemble the top.

sorry i dont think i read the original post properly, have re-read it. so it was my fault. still looks good

adidat