Finishing Ziricote - HELP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nugget

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I'm having some troubles finishing some nice ziricote (had similar issues with rio rosewood previously) I'm not experienced with different finishes so maybe (hopefully) the answer is easy???

I'm trying to finish just to seal the wood rather than the normal high gloss I'm used to but things I've tried just darken the wood too much making the grain undefined and a bit mushy looking blending in the different colours into one. I've used shelac sanding sealer before with great success on lighter woods which really brings out the grain and also linsead oil but both these ruin the look of the wood, which is beautiful before finishing.

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I didn't want to go spending loads on different finishes to try unless I have to so any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks
Dave

Cordia or zirocote shouldn't cause too many problems in the actual finishing procedures, but if you're finding it's getting too dark for your preference try a small sample with a water based varnish, the type you can buy at DIY places. Normally I'm not fond of water based finishes because they tend to give a bit of a cold appearance to the wood, and they often used to be a bit milky looking or have a slight blue cast to them. Nowadays you can buy some water based finishes with a shot of brown/red dye that you add to the mix to warm the varnish up a bit if so desired. But given what you've said, a water based varnish might work because on application they tend to change the original wood colour the least. Slainte.

Hello,