End grain tear out

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaulH

Established Member
Reaction score
Just been attempting to turn my first small bowl out of a piece of monkey puzzle kindly donated by a fellow member. The grain runs across the diameter of the bowl so I encounter end grain twice on each rotation when shaping the bowl edge.

I am getting a lot of tear out on the end grain and as a result have a lot of sanding to do to finish the bowl. I'm assuming the tear our is caused by one or more of the following:

1) Blunt tools (or at least not as sharp as they should be - but they are as sharp as I can currently get them and they do work well for spindle turning which requires very little or even no sanding, so is this "sharp enough"?)
2) A difficult piece of wood (Is monkey puzzle difficult to work?)
3) Bad technique (I'm an absolute beginner....)

Any advice to overcome this problem would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Paul.

Hi there

1, tools must be sharp
2, when shaping you can take bigger cuts

3 but when getting to the end the last few passes must be very fine and a fairly fast speed

you should then end up with something that requires sanding through the grades

120 / 240 / 320 / 400 etc

you cant sand out bad chisel marks

hope this`helps

Paul, you may need to resharpen your bowl gouge before each of the last couple of passes.

Have you tried stiffening the end grain with sanding sealer as you are nearing final shape, and re-apply before the final couple of very light passes?

Also try "wetting" the end grain fibres, wet with a drop of water or liquid detergent, if you intend to oil the finished article wet the fibres with finishing oil, no two specimens may behave the same but rarely is anything lost by experimenting.

Hi Paul.