Digital Calipers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not being an engineer my only exposure with vernier was using a sextant. Older sextants were vernier and I have to admit I found the reading to be hard. They had a small magnifer glass to read the vernier part of the scale. The sextants with a micrometer dial were much easier. These days my old eyes would even struggle with micrometer so a digital readout is the dogs bo&&ox. Nothing wrong with a cheap Aldi calliper for woodwork. My current one is more than 5 years old and if it goes to god then I'll just get another.
Regards
John
My father taught me at around 12 years old on how to use a sextant, we used to live on the River Hamble in a village called Warsash, it was a great life growing up there 50 years ago.... I've been back since moving to Spain in my early 30's and its not the same sadly but I still can sight and read a sextant even now....I can also sight the stars at night and navigate that way but I hade to admit I would be a bit rusty now as the GPS and a iPhone Astro APP is a lot quicker...
Many years ago the US stopped their Navy training on Sextants , not sure about our guys...I still think its a skill that should not ever be lost if your at Sea and how to learn to read a compass on Land, one thing I found was the Sea Scouts really worked for me.