Desk making for a newbie

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gravers007

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm as much as beginner at woodworking as one can be, but after buying my first place I'd like to be able to make bespoke items rather than spend a small fortune on buying them! Plus I'd love the satisfaction from knowing that i made something!

I've been reading online and watching youtube videos to try and learn as much as I can, and want to get underway by making a desk (I cant post the link but its on the site "Homemade Haven" and its a "Farmhouse X Desk")

Being a total novice I have a few questions, however, despite looking online I can't seem to see the answers anywhere!

1. To join the piece of wood together the guide suggests pocket screws. However, the Kreg pocket screw jig seems fairly expensive (around £65). I was thinking that I instead could use a dowelling jig to join pieces together. It'd be great to hear feedback on this and peoples thoughts on what the best course of action would be.

2. To make the desktop the guide suggests getting several planks & attaching to each other using pocket holes. However, it makes no mention of whether the planks need to be jointed so they sit flush. Is there a particular kind of wood i should be looking that don't need jointing? Or would i need to (or be better off) getting a cheaper wood and perhaps jointing with a router?

3. In terms of tools, I have the basics (drill & bits, spirit level, squaring tool, measuring tape, etc.) I'm sure I need more, but I'm not sure what exactly! Specifically:

- which clamps & how many do i need? there seem to be an infinite amount of choice and am at a bit of a loss as to where to start!