Decking Plan Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gaz2020

Reaction score
Hi,

Below is my design and plan for my decking, I am not a DIY novice but this is my first foray into decking.

Any decking experts out there that can have a glance over and see if it looks ok please.

Decking.png

(Resized)
Decking-Copy.png

The the 6x2's will be attached with Joist Hangers where appropriate. The 4x2 Noggins will be toe screwed/nailed.

Posts are dug and buried to 700mm.

Thanks

Attachments

• Decking.png
    Decking.png
    166.6 KB · Views: 248
Hi, welcome to the forum, enjoy yourself.
Sorry I cannot supply technical details about decking. I would however plea that if any of the edges are to a wall with windows above, then run the top surface planking parallel to that wall. This will provide an element of footing to any ladders used there in the future. Especially if slightly damp.
xy

If those are wooden posts in the ground I wouldn’t do it that way, you have 6-months upwards before they start to rot, maybe years of course, but maybe only months. Also the joists should be sitting on shoulders in the posts not shearing on screws/nails.

If it were me, I’d use concrete blocks on pads or dekblocks or grandfather posts at a pinch. The previous two options being considerably easier and better for load bearing, otherwise looks reasonable. Remember decking gets wet, slimy and ugly very quickly if it’s treated softwood

Aidan

I would not bury the posts but would use metal standoffs set into concrete. I find that if the posts are set in the ground, depending on the size and treatment they last 10-15 years at most.

just noticed the same advice above.

Unless I have misunderstood the dimensions, that is a large area for decking. If you are using softwood, you can expect a lot of work annually to keep it looking good.