dakota xt650 or xt700

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobbins

Reaction score
Hi Folks.

I'm new to turning, I have a old record lathe and need a chuck for it. I've been researching and reading lots of posts on this forum and have concluded to by a dakota chuck from Rutland. Lots of people recommend the xt700 - for its value for money (currently £69), but not many on here seem to have the xt650 (currently the kit costs £129) - which is slightly smaller at 70mm diameter as opposed to the xt700 at 90mm. The blurb on their website says "This new compact design chuck gives you the turning capacity of a full sized chuck." - is there any truth in this?

Also, the xt650 kit comes with 5 sets of jaws and seems to be really good value - but I'm not 100% sure about the usefulness of these jaws. Would it be better to stick with the xt700 and just buy additional jaws as and when required?

Hope you can help.

Cheers,

Bob

The answer is more dependent on what you expect to turn because despite marketing claims, chuck size is commensurate with the capacity of the lathe and the size (and out of true-ness) of work you plan to use.

Do you know the model of the lathe? You say its a Record. Is it MT1 3/4" x 16tpi or MT2 1" x 8tpi?

Both chucks can be accommodated on an MT1 lathe spindle but if you're planning to turn small, delicate spindle work then a fat near 4" chuck will make it more difficult to get tools close in to the business end. The smaller 3" model will allow better access and put less stress on the lathe's bearings.