Competition 063/09 Syntec4 - Scalectrix Chest

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Newbie_Neil

Established Member
Reaction score
Anyway, this will be only the 3rd thing I've ever made (apart from the workshop) so be gentle with me :oops:

SWMBO has been nagging me for ages about making something to put George my 5YRO Scalextrics sets in. He has 2 of the large sets and there are lots of pieces and Cars/Bikes to protect. I thought if I can throw in a curve somewhere I could combine this with the comp and provide something usefull too.

I started with Sketchup -something else I need to learn and came up with a basic box, with a curved lid. Nothing too fancy, but I'm a total beginner.

I bought the Pine for the box this morning 12"x1" boards. really nice stuff, much better than the rubbish that I normally work with from B&Q. The boards have some large Knots but I quite like it and it will go with the furniture that is already in Georges' room when finished.
2006_0306_155656_JPG.jpg

I used Cutlist following recommendations here to calculate the best cuts and set to work trimming the boards to length and square.

I had planned to dovetail all the pieces on my new jog from Axminster. But all this changed when I realized that the boards were too big to fit in it :oops: However I need the practice cutting them by hand anyway, so I set about marking everything up.
2091855300086417573WksQWN_th.jpg

I did make a mistake with one of the Pins, I cut it too narrow :oops: I had George in the workshop with me after School and I was distracted talking to him whilst cutting. Anyway, I'm sure I can fix it with a couple of wedges before final glue up. It was a good lesson learned anyway.