coffin plane query

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tim_H

Established Member
Reaction score
I had a mad ebay moment and as the only bidder I am now the proud but slightly surprised owner of several wooden planes.

IMG_20140413_224129.jpg

There are three moulding planes (one with a broken wedge top), a Jack plane (missing blade and wedge), a jointer plane and two coffin planes.

Having done some reading and YouTube viewing I intend to clean the wood with turpentine and treat with boiled linseed oil and clean up the irons with lot's of hard work! I intend to acquire a new iron and make a new wedge for the Jack plane, any advice on suitable wood?

Any advice welcomed as I am a complete novice when it comes to wooden planes!

My main question is about one of the coffin planes, it has an angled section in front of the mouth, which I thought at first was for an insert to reduce the mouth but the angle is odd. I would like to know if I am missing something? Could it be for a dovetail style insert? Any ideas?

IMG_20140413_224038.jpg

Any help appreciated.

Thank you.

Tim

Attachments

• IMG_20140413_224038.jpg
    IMG_20140413_224038.jpg
    124.4 KB · Views: 1,159
  • IMG_20140413_224129.jpg
    IMG_20140413_224129.jpg
    177.2 KB · Views: 1,159
Beech for the wedges - I use wood from a couple of utterly trashed jack planes I have, and yes, a dovetail style insert for the smoother.

Cheerio,

Carl

Tim_H":3g36o64z said:
My main question is about one of the coffin planes, it has an angled section in front of the mouth, which I thought at first was for an insert to reduce the mouth but the angle is odd. I would like to know if I am missing something? Could it be for a dovetail style insert? Any ideas?

I don't recall the reference at the moment (very old issue of Woodworker, I think) but it's "the other" way of patching the mouth.