Can I introduce myself?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scrimper

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello to all in the scrollsawing section, this morning I joined UK workshop forums and have only just got around to finding this noble section.

I think I have conversed with Gill in the Diamond forums, in fact I think it was her who gave me the url to this place some months ago, well I have finally arrived! Lol.

I have been a woodworker since a young lad when you could buy Fish and chips for one shilling, I have always been a fan of Fretwork since both my late Father and Grandfather were fretworkers, I have been interested in the original Hobbies company from Dereham and have a huge collection of their old patterns dating back to the 1920's up until their demise in the late 1960's.

I own a Hegner, Diamond and one of those cheap Wickes fretsaws (which was given to me) I like using the hegner best as it is so smooth and quiet running.

This is a little cupboard I made using the Hegner -:

fretcabli5.jpg

scrimper you are bringing back memories talking about the hobbies mag and with your cupboard, it is unbelievable how well worn those mags could get and still be passed around. I only had a hand fretsaw way back in the fiftys (we did not have electricity anyway) but I can still remember the aching arm from trying to master the art of keeping it upright and square to avoid jambing the blade and bending or breaking it. Wood came from salvaging broken fruit trays or boxes but many a model boat or plane engine/undercarriage rib was cut out that way.

CHJ":2vf8gekb said: