Building a workbench out of softwood?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PennineRider

Reaction score
Afternoon,

I'm a beginner to woodworking and I want to make a nice workbench. To keep costs down, I want to make the frame out of 4x2 softwood, then top it with a solid oak kitchen worktop. The frame will be joined with pegged mortise & tenon joints. Basically, two trestles joined with stretchers.

So: Will the world come to an end if I build a workbench out of 2x4 kiln-dried pine from B&Q?

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    123 KB · Views: 1,009
PennineRider":2zq8vuk8 said:
Afternoon,

I'm a beginner to woodworking and I want to make a nice workbench. To keep costs down, I want to make the frame out of 4x2 softwood, then top it with a solid oak kitchen worktop. The frame will be joined with pegged mortise & tenon joints. Basically, two trestles joined with stretchers.

So: Will the world come to an end if I build a workbench out of 2x4 kiln-dried pine from B&Q?

No.

What tools/benches do you have (or have access to) to help your build along?

It's easiest to build a bench if you have a bench !!

(a friend with tools, a bench, a workshop, good advice, and TEA is recommended)

BugBear

I've made a bench using the same method a MrTeroo has illustrated.

The legs were chunky 94mm x 94mm joinery softwood, Apron linings were 32mm x 219mm joinery softwood. The legs were braced with rails like in the picture above but I also put rails along the length, all mortise and tenon construction.

The top was made up of 2 x 44mm x 219mm pieces of joinery softwood at the sides and the middle infilled with t&g floorboards nailed.

As bugbear has mentioned it would be handy to know someone with the tools to give you a hand.

P.s. The bench construction is as strong as an ox #NOTGOINGANYWHERE.