Building a Computer Desk

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raze599

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I'm a complete novice at woodworking. Not built anything in my life but hopefully I'd like to change that in the coming months. I've been watching lots and lots of videos over the last few months and woodworking is very interesting to say the least.

My computer desk is falling apart and I'd like to have a crack at building a new one myself. I'm working on a model of it in Sketchup but I have a few questions:

-What kind of wood is the best to buy and where is a good place to get it somewhat cheaply? I'm thinking of 18mm thick plywood but the prices and types vary a lot. Plus I'd like a type which you can get edge banding for.
-What is a good finish to use on the plywood? Some sort of oil? Plus can you use the finish on edge banding?
-Would I be able to get away with just a drill and circular saw? I have a very old very heavy corded drill and if I carry on with this project I'm considering buying the Evolution Rage 1B circular saw for £50 I think from Screwfix.

Thanks.

Hmm... ok

Yes you can use the same finish on the edge banding as the plywood as the edge banding can be bought as real wood veneer - even maybe as a contrast colour which often looks effective.