Boxes: Making joints with machinery

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard6299

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
HI. I'm a newbie at woodwork. Lets say that you wanted to make, as a commercial venture in a small workshop, boxes 150mm height. And you decided to use dove - tail joints at the corners (dove-tail considered most appropriate, but other similar joints may be adequate).

What machine (or labour saving device) would you or could you use to make the joints with? Thanks.

i think that the first consideration would be to consider what your customers wanted, both in terms of a standardised product and joint.

Is it a hand cut dovetail box that they will pay a premium for? If this is the case, I would look at batch production if it is a standardised product- cutting several sets of pins and tails at a time. If a dovetail is considered essential but it can be machine cut, then a router and dovetail jig may be appropriate. For one offs, it may be quicker to cut by hand rather than set up the jig.
Do they want a dovetailed box, or just a box that looks aesthetically pleasing? If so, then there are various router joints that would be quicker than dovetails- a lock mitre joint (once set up) for instance. Is it solid timber or veneered sheet. you could set this up quickly if you use a standard thickness of side, but I dont know how sensitive it would be if you were 1/2" a mm didfferent between boxes.
Do they want bespoke items- one offs in their choice of timber, potentially choice of size, lining etc.

If you can avoid the dovetail, keyed mitres would be a reasonable option, with a couple of jigs on the table saw.

Many things to think about- some examples of what you want to make and an idea of batch size/quantity would help you to get better answers.

A dovetailing machine :D