• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Bit of a pc problem... any ideas SORTED THANKS

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

toolsntat

Yep, I collect tools and tat
Joined
8 Dec 2007
Messages
1,952
Reaction score
244
Location
Leicestershire England
Just at a friends place and we can access any part of the internet except EBAY

Changed to firefox, deleted history and done disk cleanup but to no avail :evil:

The address for ebay when trying to connect is " roverebay"

Is it summut obvious or what?????

Cheers
Andy
 

blurk99

Established Member
Joined
19 Dec 2003
Messages
288
Reaction score
0
Location
oxfordshire / cotswolds
any difference if you try to load ebay.com rather than ebay.co.uk
what about mobile.ebay.co.uk i've had days in the recent past where the whole of ebay was dead, then it suddenly cleared up

ir.ebaystatic.co.uk was the suspect site

jim
 

blurk99

Established Member
Joined
19 Dec 2003
Messages
288
Reaction score
0
Location
oxfordshire / cotswolds
also in firefox.... <CTRL><SHIFT><J> gives you the error console - clear everything, the reload the page and look for parsing and CSS style errors, they'll sometimes stop the browser, tripping it up if you like when there's too many to handle, they'll be addressed and sorted in due course, but you may have to wait

also - if you look at the address bar - are you trying to load what you think is a nice clean 'bookmark' when actually the browser is after a hoplessly malformed address - this sort of rubbish tacked on the end...

00752?_trksid=p5197.m7trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D5%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D2994361561035969736

jim
 

Gerry

Established Member
Joined
16 Apr 2007
Messages
261
Reaction score
19
Location
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Have a look in the Windows/system32/drivers/etc/hosts file. Open it up with notepad and check there are no extra entries in there.
Your host file should look like this:
Code:
# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handle within DNS itself.
#       127.0.0.1       localhost
#       ::1             localhost
If not something has modified it.
Also do a search on the host file as there are some excellent versions available that block porn, advertising etc by routing them back to your own PC and blocking the sites.

Gerry
 

toolsntat

Yep, I collect tools and tat
Joined
8 Dec 2007
Messages
1,952
Reaction score
244
Location
Leicestershire England
Ok thanks for your help, will talk to them later and pass on the your info...

Hudson Carpentry":22xjg5u2 said:
Are you saying when you type ebay.co.uk into the address bar it changes it to roverebay.co.uk??
No sorry got that bit wrong, when you have google searched for ebay it fails to load. The address it's trying to load is rover.ebay......

Cheers
Andy
 

Jacob

Pint of bass, porkpie, and packet of crisps please
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
18,969
Reaction score
1,037
Location
Derbyshire
rover.ebay (something like that) is what I get when I click on an ebay link in an ebay email search notification. It's a legit url so just hang on in there.
 

Dibs-h

Established Member
Joined
23 Jul 2007
Messages
4,224
Reaction score
11
Location
West Yorkshire
toolsntat":zmp8el4i said:
Ok thanks for your help, will talk to them later and pass on the your info...

Hudson Carpentry":zmp8el4i said:
Are you saying when you type ebay.co.uk into the address bar it changes it to roverebay.co.uk??
No sorry got that bit wrong, when you have google searched for ebay it fails to load. The address it's trying to load is rover.ebay......

Cheers
Andy
Why not just type www.ebay.co.uk (or ebay.co.uk)into the address bar? Why Google search for something when you know the address?

Suspect Google's got a slight issue.

My 2p worth

Dibs
 

toolsntat

Yep, I collect tools and tat
Joined
8 Dec 2007
Messages
1,952
Reaction score
244
Location
Leicestershire England
Well, been in touch with my friends and they have sorted it :D :D :D

So what bit of super duper techno wizardry did they use I hear you asking :?:

Another friend they mentioned it to had heard of some sort of "conflict" between "BT" and "EBAY" and the router for wifi :shock: . (don't ask me I don't understand :? )
So they did as he said and turned off the router then back on and voilà it's done =D>

Once again thanks for all your input 8) 8)

Cheers
Andy
 
Top