Ash CD Tower - First Hardwood Project!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OPJ

Established Member
Reaction score
My CD collection seems to have grown and grown over the last few years and I've been meaning to get a second cheapo CD tower next time I'm going past Argos or somewhere. Before I thought to myself, "hang on a minute, I'm a woodworker and I haven't had a project for a few months now!"

Here's the thing I'm looking to replace. It holds 60 CDs fine. But it's cheap, it's plastic-laminated 'pine-effect' Argos junk. You can see how it just isn't up to the job any more - CDs EVERYWHERE!

58172454-1c5a-02000180-.jpg

So, about two months ago I bought myself some Ash (waaaaay too much for this single project, might I add!) and set about machining the timber I needed after 2 weeks acclimatising indoors. The CD racks came from Woodfit, I got the dimensions for the timber from these, basically.

57170646-0938-02000180-.jpg

Three 8"x1"s (for the sides) and a length of 10"x1" (base and top), all roughly 1m long.

58172437-081c-02000180-.jpg

It planed up B-E-A-utifuly, as you can see.
...And one heck of a mess on my workshop floor, since I have no extraction whatsoever! :?

You can also see my method of jointing - dowels, just like the flat-packed jobbies; only, these are PROPER beech dowels, with polyureathane glue. This was done using some careful marking out and work on my Clarke drill press, while the sides were drilled using my Wolfcraft dowelling set (below) - dead handy for £14.99 (Screwfix or D&M).

58172449-aab8-02000180-.jpg

Everything I could possibly need, even though I prefered the Titebond approach to the glue-up.

58172407-2865-02000180-.jpg