Any views on Erbauer mitre saw? Or perhaps Evolution Rage?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

graduate_owner

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
my SIP mitre saw packed up yesterday. I was cutting some stuff and released the trigger but the motor and blade kept going. I walked over to the wall switch and by that time (seconds) blue smoke had started pouring from the saw. I have owned ot from new, bought about 6 years ago, but I'm not a professional user and it hasn't had heavy use - nowhere near it actually. So I was a bit disappointed that it has burnt out, although the laser packed in within a few months of purchase, then the bevel scale fell off - just a bit of glued-on plastic.

Anyhow I need a new one but I'm not able to justify the £400-500 needed for the regular makes, and I'm a bit reluctant to go down the second hand route here because I would expect anyone selling a Makita or DeWalt would be doing so for a good reason, like it's had a hard life and is clapped out, so no more accurate than a cheaper make. So despite usually keeping away from cheap tools, I've been looking at the Erbauer saws from Screwfix. They have mostly great reviews with only one or two poor reviews (out of 30 or so).

Does anyone have experience of these - I was thinking of the 255mm blade version? Any comments on accuracy and reliability would be gratefully received. I don't want a saw that doesn't cut accurately, nor do I want to have to replace it again in a few years.

I was also looking at Evolution, but their reviews seem to be not so good. Any views on these?

K

I was also thinking about the evolution (fury?) saw. Is there anything special about the blade as they are always advertising that it will cut through almost anything.

Sorry to jump on your post.